In a TikTok video titled “My Gay Awakening Story” Siwa, 19, rapped approximately her enjoy. “One element approximately me is that when I became 12, Demi Lovato came out with a song known as “Cool for the Summer,” ” Siwa stated of Lovato’s unmarried from the 2015 Confident album. The Dance Moms alum persevered, “I genuinely, virtually liked it and listened to all of it time.

tvguidetime.com

I did not recognise what it supposed lower back then however now that I’m older I recognise what it approach.”

She then recalled that “a few years later Jenna Dewan went on Lip Sync Battle.

She did a in reality tremendous Magic Mike number I pretty a good deal watched it every day,” adding of her more youthful self, “Little me, nicely, she didn’t realize she was gay.”

The “awakening” got here years after that after she was on her first date with a guy who “wanted to have intercourse with me.”

“And I, did now not want to, never wanted to, grossed out by the idea of it, without delay knew, men aren’t my factor.

Women are my gig, gotta move,” she stated as she unexpectedly ended the video and walked off camera.

She saved the caption easy with, “Enjoy” Siwa got here out as LGBTQ in January 2021 over a series of posts on TikTok and Instagram.

When she lipsynched Lady Gaga’s “Born This Way” following a day with TikTok collective Pride House LA, enthusiasts questioned if she became revealing something about her sexuality.

And with a totally direct t-shirt — BEST GAY COUSIN EVER — she showed it.

Speaking with PEOPLE about her statement the subsequent April, Siwa said it was the last element she hadn’t shared with the arena.

And was stimulated by using her love for her then-female friend Kylie Prew, which began as a friendship and became romantic in overdue 2020.

(Siwa’s now relationship TikTokker Avery Cyrus.) At first, Siwa did not want to position a “label” on her sexuality.

“I like queer,” she said on the time. “Technically I would say that I am pansexual due to the fact this is how I even have usually been my entire lifestyles is just like, my human is my human.”

“I in no way wanted [my coming out] to be a massive deal,” she added. But it changed into: Never before has someone with this type of younger fan base recognized publicly as LGBTQ.

“I’ve recognized for the reason that I was little,” Siwa stated. (“I did too,” her mother Jessalynn brought. “A mom knows.”) They both additionally knew it turned into a risk to inform the world.

“I have a lot that could have long past away due to my love lifestyles,” Siwa said.

While she faced criticism, new enthusiasts Elton John, Meghan Trainor, Kerry Washington and extra applauded her openness.

“I’ve in no way gotten this a lot guide from the arena,” she said. “I suppose this is the first time that I’ve felt so in my opinion satisfied.”

“Performing has constantly made me remarkable happy,” she added. “But for the first time, personally, I am like, whoa, happiness. I am so proud to be me.”